The Kentucky Bourbon Hall of Fame will induct six individuals into its elite ranks next month, including two distillery founders, influential lawmakers on both sides of the aisle, a groundbreaking industry veteran and the acclaimed grandson of a Bourbon baron.

The Parker Beam Lifetime Achievement Award will be bestowed on the late Stephen Francis Thompson, founder and president of Kentucky Artisan Distillery, who unexpectedly died in 2021 after an accident. He was 79 years old.

“Since we lost the past two years to COVID-19, this is officially the 20th anniversary of the Kentucky Bourbon Hall of Fame, whiskey’s most spirited honor,” said Eric Gregory, president of the Kentucky Distillers’ Association, which founded the Hall of Fame in 2001.

“Congratulations to this year’s esteemed class which celebrates the visionaries, artisans and partners that have made Kentucky Bourbon – and our beloved Commonwealth – the gold standard of American whiskey. And, on behalf of our industry, a heartfelt thank you.”

This year’s inductees are, in alphabetical order (full bios, as provided by each inductee, are attached via the below link:

  • Retiring Rep. D. Chad McCoy, R-Bardstown, Majority Whip, Kentucky House of Representatives, two-time recipient of the KDA’s “100 Proof” award for public service and champion of several landmark pieces of legislation.
  • The late Stephen Francis Thompson, Founder and President, Kentucky Artisan Distillery (Lifetime Achievement Award), former president of Brown-Forman Distilleries and a pioneering resource for craft distilleries across the country.
  • Julian P. Van Winkle, III, President, Old Rip Van Winkle Distillery, heralded grandson of Bourbon legend Julian “Pappy” Van Winkle, creator of the ultra-aged premium Pappy Van Winkle brand and the very first James Beard winner from Kentucky, as well as numerous other accolades.
  • Andrea Marie Wilson, a distinguished industry veteran, Executive Vice President, General Manager and Master of Maturation at Michter’s Distillery, and in 2009, the first woman to chair the KDA Board of Directors.
  • Retiring U.S. Rep. John Yarmuth, D-Louisville, Co-Founder of the Congressional Bourbon Caucus and Chair of the House Budget Committee who helped lead a permanent reduction on the federal excise tax on distillers among other key measures.
  • Kaveh Zamanian, Founder, Whiskey Maker and CEO, Rabbit Hole Distillery, left Iran in 1979 during the revolution and founded Rabbit Hole in 2012. He blends the immigrant whiskey maker tradition with time-honored methods, diverse perspectives and modernist aesthetics.

The Kentucky Bourbon Hall of Fame recognizes individuals and organizations that have made a significant and transformational impact on Bourbon’s stature, growth and awareness. It is the highest honor given by the signature industry.

The invitation-only ceremony will be held on Sept. 13 at My Old Kentucky Home state park in Bardstown, Ky., one of the state’s most revered historic sites.

Following the induction ceremony, there will be an exclusive reception sponsored by Independent Stave Company, a KDA “Champion” level industry member. ISC President & CEO Brad Boswell and his father, John, are both Hall of Fame members.

The two-year break due to the pandemic allowed the KDA to evaluate its Hall of Fame processes and protocols, Gregory said. The prestigious event is known for its intimate celebration of the industry’s most revered champions and attracts dignitaries from around the world.

This year, for the first time ever, a blue-ribbon committee of renowned Hall of Fame members reviewed and selected inductees. Candidates are nominated each year by the KDA and its member distilleries in three categories: Industry, Roll of Honor and Lifetime Achievement.

The selection committee includes all living recipients of the Parker Beam Lifetime Achievement Award: Jimmy Russell, Master Distiller of Wild Turkey; Bill Samuels, Jr., Chairman Emeritus of Maker’s Mark; Max Shapira, Executive Chairman of Heaven Hill Brands and Even Kulsveen, Executive Director of Willett Distillery.

Also serving were Kevin Smith, Chairman of the KDA Board of Directors and Vice President of Kentucky Bourbon Affairs for Beam Suntory; Chris Morris, Governor of the Order of the Writ – Spirit of Kentucky Bourbon Society and Vice President and Master Distiller at Brown-Forman Corp.; and noted author Dixie Hibbs of Bardstown, who was appointed by the KDA President.

The KDA also commissioned glassblowing artist Brook Forrest White, Jr., of Flame Run in Louisville to craft unique and contemporary awards that incorporate Bourbon-inspired motifs such as amber colors, oak, copper and water.

A student of the late famed glass artist Stephen Rolfe Powell at Centre College in Danville, Ky., White’s work has been recognized nationally, including at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C., and at several distilleries in Kentucky.

“We look forward to seeing all our living legends next month and celebrating the best of the best of our historic industry and toasting our success,” Gregory said. “Thanks to our partners at Independent Stave Company and our distinguished members.”

Click here to sign up for The Bourbon Flight Newsletter.

Owner/President at The Bourbon Flight, LLC | + posts